Days out

Enjoy a day out with a difference in Buxton

There’s something for everyone in and around Buxton and it’s not a cliché, there really is. Days out in Buxton include culture, fantastic scenery, quaint villages and towns, caverns and adventure activities, and just about everything else too. Visit Bakewell where the tarts come from. Castleton for Blue John and Speedwell Caverns. Sherwood Forest the haunt of Robin Hood. Hathersage where Little John is buried. Heights of Abraham for the Cablecar ride. National Tramway Museum, Crich to see working vintage trams. The Chetsnut Centre. For beautiful nature trails, owls and otters Tideswell. Home of the Cathedral of the Peak. Eyam. Site of the Bubonic Plague. Chesterfield. site of the most crooked church tower and Manchester the home of the Museum of Science & Industry The Potteries where Wedgewood, Royal Doulton and Spode come from. Here’s a few more of our suggestions, but you might need more than a few days stay!

The Spa at the Dome Situated just a stone’s throw away from The Old Hall Hotel, the Devonshire Dome Spa offers a tranquil and relaxing environment to wind down and invest time for yourself. In luxurious, ambient surroundings, you will have an unforgettable experience as you’re treated to the very best in spa treatments from a team of dedicated professionals. www.atthedome.co.uk/spa

Buxton Festival Recognised nationally and internationally as one of the UK’s leading arts festivals, Buxton Festival is a summer celebration of the very best opera, music and literature at the heart of the beautiful Peak District. http://www.buxtonfestival.co.uk/

Alton Towers A theme park full of rides and adventures for kids of all sizes and adrenaline addicted adults… It’s an absolute must-do day out! www.altontowers.com

Chatsworth House Chatsworth House is a stately home in the county of Derbyshire in the East Midlands region of England. www.chatsworth.org

Haddon Hall A stunning English Tudor and country house in Derbyshire. Home to the Manners Family, www.haddonhall.co.uk

Peak District Guided Tours – Discover Buxton Journey back in time to experience a bygone age aboard a “Victorian tram”, and relax as your knowledgeable guide reveals the historic and architectural gems of the ancient spa town of Buxton, Derbyshire. www.discoverbuxton.co.uk

Cavendish Arcade Shopping Discover Buxton’s oldest shopping centre, the Cavendish Shopping Arcade, within the historic original thermal baths of Buxton. Filled with a fantastic array of local independent stores. Including home ware, giftware, several fashion stores and food, this historic arcade is a must for both visitors and locals. http://www.cavendisharcade.co.uk/

Cressbrook and Litton Flyfishers Club Ltd A section of the River Wye near Monsal Dale is available for day tickets.  www.clff.co.uk

Sidecar Safari Take a trip with Sidecar Safari on a great escape into the heart of the Peak District. Sidecar Safari is the first and only licensed way to travel on a motorcycle and sidecar in the UK. http://www.sidecarsafari.co.uk/

Blaze Farm in Wildboarclough is an award winning farm set on the edge of the Peak District. Famous for our Hilly Billy Ice Cream, which can also be sampled in our Wine Bar. www.blazefarm.com

Lyme Park Glorious House surrounded by Gardens, Moorland and Deer Park www.nationaltrust.org.uk/lyme-park

Blackwell Mill Cycle Hire The best cycle hire prices on the Monsal Trail in the Peak District National Park www.peakblackwellcyclehire.com

Peak Tours Cycle Hire and Delivery Service Mountain bikes and childrens bikes. www.peak-tours.com

Buxton Swimming Pool and Leisure Centre www.dcleisurecentres.co.uk/centres/buxton-swimming-and-fitness-centre

Gulliver’s Kingdom theme park over 60 rides and attractions. www.gulliversfun.co.uk

Lady Booth Pony Trekking Farm rides, X-country course, family lessons and ,many more. www.ladybooth.co.uk

Peak District Cycleways. www.peakdistrictcycleways.co.uk

Peak Pursuits Outdoor pursuits including archery, abseiling, climbing, canoeing and mountain biking. www.peakpursuits.co.uk

Pedal Peak District, Get away on safe, traffic free trails. www.peakdistrict.gov.uk/cycle

Poole’s Cavern 2 million year old, natural limestone cave situated in the beautiful woodland of Buxton Country Park in Derbyshire www.poolescavern.co.uk

Sally Mosley Guided Walks. www.sallymosley.co.uk

Speedwell and Peak Cavern. www.peakcavern.co.uk

The Great Escape with Sidecar Safari. www.sidecarsafari.co.uk

Tissington Hall, Home of the FitzHerbert Family of over 500 years. www.tissingtonhall.co.uk

Treasure Trails Derbyshire. www.treasuretrails.co.uk

Cavendish Golf Club Cavendish, which opened in 1925, was designed by Dr Alister MacKenzie, and unlike many early courses has not been altered in response to today’s pressures. At 5721 yds off the medal tees, the course remains shorter than many, yet still fulfils MacKenzie’s belief that length has nothing to do with the quality of a hole. http://www.cavendishgolfclub.com/

Tropical Butterfly House Wildlife and Falconry. www.butterflyhouse.co.uk

Walking Festivals, in the Peak district and Derbyshire. www.visitpeakdistrict.com/walkingfestivals

Well Dressing and Glorious Gardens. www.visitpeakdistrict.com

For more days out in Buxton visit www.visitbuxton.co.uk.

To make a booking, or for more information, please contact reception on 01298 22841